Stir Fry

Good Morning Delish World friends!

One of my fave meals to make for Marcus and I, is stir fry. It’s a super simple way to incorporate lots of veggies into the meal and is easily adaptable to both of our eating styles. In fact, it was one of the first meals I made by myself after we moved in together.

In order to make it vegetarian for me, I simply cook our stir fry in two separate pans with tofu in mine and chicken in his. Stir fry is so versatile. You can add whatever protein you want (chicken, shrimp, beef, tofu, crab), then whatever veggies, beans, and nuts you want. Top it off with your choice of spices and sauces. I also like to add an egg at the end and scramble it up with everything. Then serve it on top of your choice of whole grain (brown rice, quinoa, millet, couscous). Easy and sooo good!

For this stir fry I used fresh and frozen veggies – carrots, celery, mushrooms, onions, peas, and corn.

I cut up the tofu and chicken and cooked them both the same – in a little olive oil, salt, pepper, cayenne, and garlic. Once the “meat” was close to finished I added the veggies. After letting it all cook up, I added more spices and a little bit of soy sauce, and finished with a scrambled egg. I like cooking our food separate because it also allows me to make mine a little spicier (I looove the cayenne and hot sauce!)

I served the stir fry on top of brown rice. Reminds me of my favorite Mongolian grill restaurant in Bethesda. Delish!

I love cooking stir fry. It tastes great, yet different every single time. Try it out!!

I’m about to enjoy my mid-morning snack (ignore the finger and messy hair)! Have a FAB day! 😀

5 responses to “Stir Fry

  1. You might have blogged this already, but where do you get your tofu? I want to try it but am weary of just buying it anywhere.

    • I buy Nasoya extra firm tofu (can be bought at most grocery stores) or Trader Joe’s extra firm. Firm and extra firm hold up better when cooking. I should do a tofu post since it is a little weird to handle.

      • Wonderful, Trader Joes is my new found love! You should do a tofu post. It can be intimidating! I’m going to try it in stir fry this week.

  2. Just discovered your blog! So much fun! I love stir-fry, but for some reason I don’t make it enough. I’ll have to change that. I think the scrambled egg is the key ingredient! 🙂

Leave a Reply

