Plenty of Fish

 Back when I still ate meat, one of my favorite things to cook and eat was tilapia. Tilapia is a mild fish, cheaper than salmon, and easy to cook. These days I don’t eat fish but I still make tilapia for Marcus.

Now let me just say, I have some reservations about tilapia since it’s a farm-raised fish, raised specifically for the commercial food industry. This has led to the virtual extinction of genetically pure bloodlines. Now, most wild tilapia are hybrids of several species. I may eventually decide to stop buying it altogether based on this. In a perfect world, we would eat fish that we caught – fish that live in their natural environment, fish that are not genetically modified. Unfortunately, this only really happens when we go down to Lake Gaston during the summer.

So for now, I buy it. It’s a good source of protein, low in mercury, and Marcus likes it. That’s the funny thing about becoming more aware about where your food comes from. The more you learn, the more you see that it is hard to get quality, natural food that has not been modifed by people and machines. I will do a post soon about my meat-free choices – where I draw the line, why, and what I have learned so far.

Ok, end tangent! Back to the meal! I like to buy the three pack of tilapia from Trader Joe’s because it’s enough for supper and leftovers the next day.

To make my tilapia, I don’t really follow a set recipe. I sort of just make it up as I go along. First, I set the oven to 400. I drizzle a little olive oil on the fishies and season with salt, pepper, cayenne, garlic, and Old Bay. I rub all the spices and oil in, flip the fish, and repeat on the other side.

Last night, I tried something new and cooked the fish on a wire rack on top of a baking sheet. This allowed for the fish the cook evenly underneath and not get too crispy.

After I prepared the fish, I got to work on one of my favorite veggies…brussels sprouts! I then put it all in the oven to cook for 20-25 minutes. I have no idea if you’re supposed to cook two totally different things at once, but it works for me!

While my veggies and fishies were cooking, I made myself some crispy tofu using Emily’s fail-proof method. (Sooo good, every single time) I also made us each a baked potato to complete the meal.

After 20 minutes for the brussels, and 23 for the fish…our dinner was complete! Another meat-eater/vegetarian-friendly meal ready in a jiffy!

For those of you who are thinking about going veg. and have a meat-eating partner – preparing meals is not hard. It does take a little preparation and thought on my part. But it’s easy to get used to making two different proteins, or cooking the meat separate from the rest of the meal. So, don’t let it deter you from trying meat-free living.

Wahooo, tomorrow is Friday! Can’t wait for some weekend fun! 🙂

3 responses to “Plenty of Fish

  1. Try cooking the fish on cedar planks. It gives the fish a wonderful flavor!

  2. Pingback: Al Fresco Dining | Delish World

  3. Pingback: Summer Time | Delish World

Leave a Reply

