Running Playlist

It’s that time again…time to download songs for my next race. I can’t run without music. I’ve tried and failed. The sound of my own breathing is not something I want to listen to for 2+ hours. So for every race I make sure I have a huge array of music to keep me going through 13.1 miles.

My taste in music includes everything. From hip hop to classic rock, top 40 to country. I like a lot of variety because I never know what I’ll be in the mood to hear, or what song will keep me going when I feel like I want to stop.

That being said, here are some songs and artists that will definitely be added to my Shamrock Half Marathon playlist.

-Any and all Britney Spears. Love her, or hate her….girl has some catchy music. Toxic will always be my fave Britney jam.
-Any and all Jay Z
-All Black Eyed Peas songs
-So Amazing, Monster, School Spirit, Power, Touch the Sky – Kanye West
-Jai Ho –  A.R. Rahman and The Pussycat Dolls. This song makes me run faster every single time I hear it.

-Bohemian Rhapsody – Queen. This song was blaring during my last mile of the Rock and Roll Half Marathon. I was running down the Va Beach boardwalk and rocking out. It was an awesome moment.

And who doesn’t love this scene from Wayne’s World?! It’s classic!

-White Liar, Only Prettier, Gun Powder and Lead – Miranda Lambert
-Cowboy Casanova, Undo It – Carrie Underwood
-First of the Month, Crossroads, Notorious Thugs – Bone Thugs N Harmony
-Lapdance, Rock Star, Everyone Nose – NERD
-Chicken Fried, Toes – Zac Brown Band

-Hay Ya, BOB, ATLiens, Rosa Parks, Ghetto Musick – Outkast

-Some recent hits…Born This Way – Lady Gaga, S&M – Rihanna, E.T. – Katy Perry, What the Hell – Avril Lavigne, Down on Me – Jeremiah
-The Pretender, Hero, Best of You, All My Life – Foo Fighters
-Born to be Wild, Magic Carpet Ride – Steppenwolf. My dad had Tyler and me listening Steppenwolf since we were little.

Hollaback Girl – Gwen Stefani. The ultimate anthem and a song that will always remind me of my BFFs.

I could go on and on….I love music! Like Bob Marley said, “One good thing about music, when it hits you feel no pain.” I am hoping his words are right, and during my race and I feel no pain. 😉

What are some of your favorite workout jams?

8 responses to “Running Playlist

  1. I like some techno and dance with some rock thrown in for good measures..

  2. Nice list. I’m like you and have a wide variety of music playing while I run / workout. Good luck at the half marathon.

  3. ANYTHING ac/dc!!! thunder stuck, diry deeds, shook me all night long to just name a few.. I run and Jam all the time to those songs!

  4. Pingback: Vacation Playlist |

  5. Pingback: A Tough Decision |

Leave a Reply

