Homemade Pizza II

It’s no secret that Marcus and I love pizza. It’s also no secret that I love to try new food. The thing I love most about my favorite bloggers is that they are constantly turning me on to new ingredients and awesome recipes. After making Ashley’s chickpea flour crackers on Sunday, I knew I had to try her chickpea flour pizza crust.

I used her recipe as a guide and kind of improvised, using the ingredients I had as well as doubling the recipe for Marcus and I. It was my vision to make us our own personal pan pizzas so that we could enjoy our own toppings.

I didn’t really follow any specific measurements. I kind of threw a bunch of stuff into a mixing bowl and crossed my fingers. I used chickpea flour, olive oil, water, garlic powder, herb blend, and salt.

The mixture was super liquidy and I was afraid that it wouldn’t solidify into anything edible. I poured it  into two round cake pans and baked for 40 minutes at 375.

While my crust was cooking, I sautéed veggies for our toppings. After 40 minutes, I was pleasantly surprised to see that the crust was nice and crispy on the edges and smelled wonderful. 

I poured on some Trader Joe’s pizza sauce, and added the toppings. I broiled both pizzas for about 5 minutes to melt the cheese. The result – two perfect personal pan pizzas…even better then what I used to get at Pizza Hut as a kid.

The chickpea crust was awesome! I couldn’t get enough of it. It resembled a thin crust pizza but without the doughy, wheaty flavor. Dare I say…I liked this crust more than my usual Trader Joe’s whole wheat crust. It was light but full of flavor.

I was blown away by the simplicity of this meal and excited to find another product to enjoy. Chickpea flour is really versatile and full of fiber and protein. I can’t wait to try more recipes.

Ok, this post is making me hungry and it’s almost lunch time. Good thing I have some leftovers! 🙂

Leave a Reply

