Cheeseburger in Paradise

 Fun fact – In college, me and two of my roomies worked at the restaurant Cheeseburger in Paradise. It was the best/worst job I ever had.

But this is not about my college days, this post is about burgers and homemade fries.

I am not trying to reinvent the wheel here over at Delish World. Often times after work I want to be able to throw together a healthy supper quickly and without a lot of prep.

But your typical suppers don’t have to be difficult or filled with unhealthy ingredients. You can enjoy your pizza, pasta, and burgers by subbing in the healthy goods, and not feel the guilt.

I don’t buy the bagged, frozen fries. I make my own. Set the oven to 400 degrees. Start by washing and peeling two potatoes (sometimes I leave the peel on, sometimes I don’t). Cut the potatoes into fry-sized pieces. Toss the fries in a little olive oil, and spices of choice, and arrange in a single layer on baking sheet. Pop those babies into the oven for about 20-25 minutes. While your fries are cooking, prepare the burgers.

Since I don’t eat meat I make myself veggie burgers. Be careful with “fake meat” products. A lot of times they are just as processed and filled with as much random stuff as junk food. I like Dr. Praeger’s veggie burgers. They are made of all vegetables and have no funky ingredients. Read your labels, people!

Last night, I cut up some onions and ‘shrooms for the burger toppings and cooked them up with my veggie burger. When I’m making veggie and meat meals and I’m using the same pan, I always make mine first so I am not cooking my food in a bunch of meat juice.

After my burger was finished, I added Marcus’ to the pan. I usually make him meals with chicken, fish, or turkey. Burgers and the occasional steak are rare suppers around here.

By the time my burgers were finished, the fries were nice and crispy. On the side, I prepared steamed kale in order to incorporate some greens into our meal. Just put some kale in a bowl with a little bit of water. Microwave for 2.5 minutes and season to taste.

I put my burger on top of the kale, topped it with feta cheese, and onions and shrooms, with fries on the side.

I don’t usually buy hamburger buns, in favor of using whole wheat sandwich thins. This saves on calories and uses healthier ingredients then most burger buns.

The result…a quick and delish meal for both of us. Eating healthy doesn’t have to mean you can’t ever eat your favorite foods. Just make sure to incorporate those veggies, use whole, natural ingredients, read the labels, and make your food homemade when you can. 🙂

2 responses to “Cheeseburger in Paradise

  1. This looks so good! mmmmmm……

  2. Pingback: A Cute Sunday | Delish World

Leave a Reply

