What’s Cookin

It’s been almost four months since I have been meat free. Having to prepare meals for one vegetarian and one meat eater has been fun, and not as hard or stressful as I thought it would be. I like the challange of creating new recipes and adapting old ones to our different eating styles.

An easy meal to make for both of us is pasta. I simply cook up some ground turkey for Marcus and keep everything separated that way I can have meatless sauce. Paired with whole wheat noodles, this makes a quick and healthy meal.

When I saw Ashley’s recipe for kale pesto I knew I had to try it. I usually use Trader Joe’s spaghetti sauce (because I’m too lazy to make my own), but I thought the kale pesto would be a good addition.

Marcus and I are crazy for kale, so this was a must try. I followed her recipe exactly except instead of walnuts I used pecans (it’s what I had in the pantry) and I used more salt.

This recipe was super simple and produced awesome results! I have never made my own sauce before, so I was quite happy with how it turned out.

This was another meal free of animal products –  whole wheat penne, Trader Joe’s pasta sauce, kale pesto, and homemade garlic bread. To make the garlic bread I used whole wheat bread spread with Earth Balance (vegan butter substitute), and nutritional yeast. I popped the bread in the oven and let it broil for about 7 minutes.

Quick and delish meal! Perfect, after a long day of workouts and work. And easy to adapt to how we both eat.

Wahoo! It’s almost the weekend. The weather is gorgeous today. Love love love it! 🙂

5 responses to “What’s Cookin

  1. I need to look for that Nutritional Yeast. I thought so when I read your other post!

  2. So glad you liked the pesto…looks like a yummy meal!

  3. Looks so yummy!!!

  4. Pingback: Cheeseburger in Paradise | Delish World

Leave a Reply

