Nutritional Yeast

I’m here to give you the goods, people. And today the good is nutritional yeast. Yeast? sounds weird and gross right? But trust me here. I will not lead you astray. Nutritional yeast is one food you do not want to ignore.

Nutritional yeast is a deactivated yeast and is favored among vegetarians and vegans as an ingredient or condiment. It is yellow and comes in flake form. It can be found in the bulk aisles and regular aisles of natural food stores, or ordered online.

Nutritional yeast is full of awesome, nutritious goodness (hence the name). The thing I like about it the most is that it’s a complete protein. Foods that are complete proteins contain all nine essential amino acids. This is great for people who are trying to get their protein from non-meat sources. Nutritional yeast also contains B vitamins which are good for the skin, muscles, and immune system.

I typically use nutritional yeast as a condiment and add it to food that I would normally add cheese or butter to, like eggs, potatoes, popcorn, veggies. It is also essential for vegan recipes. Since vegan recipes do not use animal products, nutritional yeast is a key ingredient for flavor. I have made vegan mac and cheese using nutritional yeast in my “cheese” sauce  and the taste was spot on.

Last night I used nutritional yeast on my baked potato with a little bit of Earth Balance (vegan butter substitute). I ate my potato with crispy tofu and roasted broccoli and corn. While I do not consider myself a vegan, it was cool to be able to easily create a meal without using any animal products, and is something I want to do more often.


So don’t be weirded out by the name. Nutritional yeast is an awesome addition to any diet and worth trying out! 🙂

11 responses to “Nutritional Yeast

  1. Wow! Thanks for teaching me someting new!! I am going to try this!!!

  2. I use nutritional yeast all of the time, too. I put it in Indian food to thicken the sauce.

  3. Pingback: What’s Cookin | Delish World

  4. Pingback: Homemade Broccoli and Cheddar Soup | Delish World

  5. Pingback: Homemade Pizza II | Delish World

  6. Pingback: Protein II | Delish World

  7. Pingback: A Spring Night | Delish World

  8. Pingback: Cheese Challenge | Delish World

  9. Pingback: This and That | Delish World

  10. Pingback: Ready In A Flash | Delish World

Leave a Reply

