Motivation

It was 13 degrees when I woke up this morning to go to the gym. It took every ounce of will power I had not to turn off my alarm and go back to sleep. Working out and training during the winter sucks. That’s an understatement. It’s actually pretty miserable…until you start working out. Then the endorphins kick in and it’s pretty amazing.

But getting started is freakin hard. And I have been freakin hard on myself this week for the days that I did sleep in instead of going to the gym (2 days). I just need to keep telling myself that getting started is the hardest part. I have never once regretted a single workout. My glutes and quads are on fire today from my workouts this week, and I love it. That’s what I need to remember on mornings where I feel too tired to get my butt moving.

If you have read any of my posts you can probably gather that I thrive in the sunshine and warm weather. I hate the cold. I hate the dark. But unfortunately, for a few more weeks I will be getting most of my workouts in when it’s cold and dark. That’s just the way it is. Suck it up sista and find some motivation.

So while I was wiping the crusties out of my eyes and snagging my pre-workout snack of two Trader Joe’s Jo Jos (don’t hate…cookies make for great fuel), I was thinking about what motivates me…

1. My little brother, Tyler. He’s a beast. He never makes excuses. He busts his butt, works hard, and it shows. His toughness motivated me to start running and still motivates me to push myself hard with every workout.

2. This commercial for Nike Free running shoes. I love Nike commercials, especially one’s that show ladies kicking butt. There is nothing like a little girl power to pump you up and get you going. Also, this commercial makes me want to buy like 3 more pairs of these shoes in all the cute colors. 🙂

3. Course maps for upcoming races. I am signed up for 3 races this Spring – The Shamrock Half Marathon in Va Beach, The Marine Corps Half Marathon in Fredericksburg, and The GW Parkway Classic in Alexandria. Having the course maps in plain sight displayed at work keeps me motivated and excited to run.

4. Summa summa time! I know I was just bitchin and moaning about Winter, but eventually Summer will be here. Summer = bathing suits, flip-flops, sun dresses, the beach, and long sweaty runs. Weekends at the lake, afternoons at the pool, family vacation, and miles on the Parkway. I definitely need to work hard now so I can have fun later. Running, sunning, and funning (ok, not a word…just roll with it)…sounds like a perfect summer to me!

Motivation…we all need it from time to time. I will keep these things in mind when my alarm goes off tomorrow to run in the 15 degree weather. Because when I’m enjoying those 90 degree days, this Winter will be a distant memory.

Happy Friday! Have an awesome weekend! 🙂

Leave a Reply

