Homemade Pizza

One of my favorite foods in the whole world is pizza. I could seriously eat it for days in a row. Back in the ol’ days, Marcus and I had quite the pizza habit. We would order Papa Johns up to twice a week. Fortunately for our waist lines and our wallets, we are out of that phase. But this doesn’t stop me from whipping up some delish homemade pizza to satisfy our cravings.

Pizza is so versatile and can be easily adapted for our vege/meat-eating lifestyle. I simply put meat (usually pepperoni) on his half, and leave it off my half. When we would order out I despised veggie-filled pizzas. I was a pepperoni and extra cheese kind of girl. Good thing my tastes have changed a bit, because I like to load up the veggies on my homemade creations.

To start, pre-heat your oven to 425. I use Trader Joe’s whole wheat pizza dough and follow the directions on the back of the bag. It’s only 99 cents! I know I could always make my own pizza dough, but this is a huge time saver!

Make sure you set it out and let it reach room temp before trying to spread it out. Keep working with it until it covers your pan. It will spread and stretch a lot, so be patient.

I love making pizza because I can just use whatever veggies I have in the fridge. For this pizza I cut up some onions, green and red peppers, black olives, and mushrooms.

I then cooked all the veggies up for a few minutes to soften them because I’m not a huge fan of crispy onions and peppers on my food.

While my veggies were cooking, I added some Trader Joe’s pizza sauce to my dough. Along with pizza dough, I will some day make my own pizza sauce. But for now, Trader Joe’s can’t be beat. I added a little bit of mozzarella to the whole pizza and then the cooked veggies.

On my half, I topped the veggies with some feta cheese. On Marcus’ half I added pepperoni and cheddar cheese.

This is a great way for us both to eat what we like, but with minimal work.  I then popped my pizza into the oven for about 12 minutes (this can vary depending on how crispy you want your crust.)

And as easy as that, I had delish homemade pizza. This is one of our favorite meals. In fact, I can’t even remember the last time we ordered pizza. And that’s saying a lot! This is a cheap and quick meal and is also a good way to incorporate more veggies into your diet.

Happy Thursday…it’s almost the weekend! 🙂 Wahoo!

5 responses to “Homemade Pizza

  1. It looks wonderful! Come make me some!! lol! I am so thankful you turned me on to Traders whole wheat dough. That is the only kind we eat now!

  2. Pingback: Cheeseburger in Paradise | Delish World

  3. Pingback: Homemade Pizza II | Delish World

  4. Pingback: A Spring Night | Delish World

  5. Pingback: Cheese Challenge | Delish World

Leave a Reply

