My Biggest Fan

My mom has always been my biggest fan. She has always made me feel as if I was an all-star, capable of anything. Whenever I feel nervous about an upcoming race, unsure about a job interview, or pressure with school work, she is always the one saying, “You’ll do great. You’ll be just fine. You can do it.”

 Mom taught me to be a strong woman, to never back down, and always speak my mind. She told me that I could do anything in life that I wanted to do. She always pushed me to shoot for the stars and aim high.

Mom would tirelessly drive me to all my summer softball tournaments up and down the East coast. I could hear her voice the loudest from the stands. “Come on 2-4! Hit me a dinger!” In high school before big games she would leave notes with softball cheers on them in my lunch. When me and Tyler were playing games at the same time, she would carry her American flag lawn chair from field to field, yelling and cheering for my brother and me as she trucked along between softball and baseball.

Mom never stopped cheering for me. From learning to walk to walking across the stage to receive my diploma from Mary Washington, my mom has always yelled the loudest and been the proudest.

Now it’s my turn to be the cheerleader. Tomorrow my mom will be having surgery to have both breasts removed.

She made this decision based on the fact that she is positive for the BRCA 1 gene mutation. My mom was born with a gene mutation that she inherited from her mother. The damaged gene puts her at higher risk for breast and ovarian cancer than most people.

Every woman is at risk for breast cancer and her risk increases with age. A woman in the general population faces about a 13% lifetime risk of developing breast cancer. This risk remains low before age 50; the majority of risk occurs after age 60. Women with a BRCA 1 or BRCA 2 mutation have a much higher lifetime risk for breast cancer, and much of the risk occurs at a younger age.

Since her chances of getting cancer are so high, she has decided to have risk-reducing surgery. While this may seem extreme to some, if you knew you could dramatically decrease your chances of getting cancer by having surgery then it is not so crazy.

A few months ago she had her ovaries removed to greatly decrease the risk of ovarian cancer. Now it is time to tackle the breasts. Tomorrow she will be having a double mastectomy. This is the most effective way to reduce the risk of cancer and ensure that she will be healthy later on in life.

The doctor wants to take everything to be sure – skin, tissue, nipples. After this difficult surgery she will undergo lots of reconstruction and procedures to build her a brand new set of boobs.

This was not a difficult decision for my mom to make. She had to watch her mother die of breast and ovarian cancer. My mom did not want the same thing for us. She would rather have the surgery now, then have cancer down the road.

My mom is the bravest woman I know. It takes a strong woman to make the decision to remove her healthy breasts in order to prevent cancer. The bravery and determination she has shown leading up to her surgery has been amazing. I know she has to be scared, nervous, sad, but she remains positive.

That is one thing I admire most about my mom, her ability to see the silver lining in every situation. She believes everything happens for a reason. She is always upbeat. She is constantly supporting and cheering for my dad, brother, and me.

I’m ready to be my mom’s cheerleader, to smile, look at the bright side of things, and help her be strong through her recovery. I’m ready to yell the loudest, clap, and tell her, “You’ll do great. You’ll be just fine. You can do it.”

My family and I will have to be strong for my mom. I know she will be ok. We are a tight bunch. We have lots of love and support for our favorite cheerleader.

22 responses to “My Biggest Fan

  1. Awww….Your mom is the best! Im lucky to have you both in my life!

  2. This is such a wonderful tribute to your amazing mother! She is my hero also! Always looking on the bright side of things, she is always there to always lift our spirits up! I love your mom very much….along with the rest of your family. I’ll be keeping you, Tyler, Mom and Dad in my prayers! Huuuuugs!

  3. Kaylene Landers

    That made me cry. I will keep you guys in my thoughts tomorrow. Love to all of you! ❤ Give us an update tomorrow when she is out.

  4. I am truly humbled and trul blessed. I love you Sunshine face!

  5. Good luck to your mom tomorrow! I will keep her in my thoughts and prayers! I have had a lot of cancer in my family and I know this can be very hard for the whole family and I think it’s great she’s so strong and taking preventative measures! You two are lucky to have each other!

  6. This is a wonderful tribute to your mom! I knew there was a reason that you have always been my favorite niece!! I am very proud of both of you for your strength, integrity and character. Thank You Taylor… for posting this!!!

  7. I will be thinking so many good thoughts for your mom! BRCA sucks, but it’s a blessing to be able to know and take the necessary steps to prevent cancer. I hope she has a smooth surgery & very quick recovery!

    I’m from BRCA Sisterhood, by the way… I’d commented on your post there the other day. I’m not a creepy lurker, just so you know. 🙂

  8. Your mom is one lucky lady to have you standing behind her. I am one of your mom’s younger facebook friends and am praying that she does great through surgery. I am 3 1/2 wks post op from both the mastectomy and hysterectomy. It’s doable, you guys will just need to remind her to be the queen for a few weeks.
    Much love,
    Amy S

    • Thanks for the kind words. It’s good to hear from someone who has had the operation already. One thing about my mom is, she has a hard time being the queen. She always tries to do everything and take care of us. So we will have to force her to take it easy I’m sure!

  9. You mother sounds like an amazing woman! I wish her a speedy recovery!

  10. Pingback: Taking a Time Out | Delish World

  11. Your mom shared this on the BRCA Sisterhood on Facebook – it’s a wonderful blog entry! I got goosebumps as I read it. She’s very lucky to have a daughter like you. Thinking good thoughts for both of you today.
    Warmly,
    Teri

  12. Thank you so much! Your comment is much appreciated! 🙂

  13. Taylor,
    What a sweet daughter you are…more proof your mother is a great one!! She will do just fine with all the love, support, and prayers!! Adding mine also…give her my love always…Regina

  14. Pingback: PARTY!! | Delish World

  15. Pingback: Sunday Run | Delish World

  16. Pingback: Getting Tested | Delish World

  17. Pingback: Genetic Testing | Delish World

  18. Pingback: Monday Night | Delish World

  19. Pingback: My Seven Links |

  20. Pingback: One More Surgery |

Leave a Reply

