Mmm Brussels Sprouts

Brussels sprouts…two words that’ll make most people wrinkle up their face in disgust. These little lettuce-looking balls of goodness have a bad rap (wrap?). Most people think they smell bad, taste bad, and are just torture to eat. This does not have to be true for you!

My secret to veggie delish-ness is roasting. You can roast any vegetable – carrots, potatoes, broccoli, leeks, cauliflower, green beans. This never fail method is super easy and the veggies taste good every single time.

Simply set the oven to 400 degrees; clean and cut your veggies; toss the veggies with a little olive oil and spices of your choice in a baking sheet; pop it all into the oven for 20-30 minutes. The cook time will vary depending on what type of veggie you use. So keep an eye on them. The veggies will come out a little charred on the edges (which is my favorite part), and full of flavor! I can seriously eat a whole bag of frozen broccoli if I roast it.

This is my way of making even the dreaded brussels sprout taste awesome. Before you roast the brussels you have to cut them up. Cut off the stem, remove some of the outer leaves (like you do with lettuce), and cut the little nugget in half. They are much easier to eat if cut in half.

I then flipped the little halves around in olive oil, sea salt, ground pepper, garlic powder, and cayenne in a baking pan. Finally, I let them cook for 20 minutes and the result was tender, slightly sweet and spicy, crispy, brussels sprouts!

Soo good, especially with ketchup! For protein I made myself crispy tofu. I use Emily’s tofu tutorial and it tastes awesome every single time. If you are interested in tofu but don’t know how to cook it, or have tried cooking it but never liked it, try this method! I spiced it up a bit by adding some coconut curry sauce after the tofu was finished cooking.

I made Marcus some chicken breast strips cut up and cooked in a pan with a little olive oil, spices, and coconut curry sauce. I rounded out the meal with garlic bread for both of us.

Quick and delish meal! And the leftovers taste great for lunch the next day. See, brussels sprouts don’t have to be scary. They taste great and are packed with all kinds of nutritional goodness. Try them out! 🙂

7 responses to “Mmm Brussels Sprouts

  1. You’re right! Roasting is the way to go with most vegetables! I love brussell sprouts. Keep you the good work!

  2. I am going to try this, this weekend! They look s good but then I have always liked brussel sprouts!

  3. just finished making dinner and i decided to sit down and read your post. i actually really like brussel sprouts..and roasting vegetables! i’m probably one of the least pickiest veggie eaters, but i don’t know why i’ve never tried roasting brussel sprouts. i will try it! speaking of notoriously unliked foods, i used to not care for beets because i’d only had canned versions. (yuck) recently i started cooking with fresh beets. a great and EASY way to eat them is roast them in the oven just as they are with a little olive oil drizzled over them. then when they’re done, peel off the skins (easier to do after cooking) and sprinkle with a bit of salt and pepper. then make a balsamic vinegar reduction on the stove. drizzle over the beets after they’re out of the oven and sprinkle some feta cheese over them. man oh man…simple but delicious! 🙂 it’s actually one of the things i made tonight (along with baked edamame-stuffed wontons and a blackeyed pea coconut curry over rice). i love cooking and being creative with it. you gotta be as a vegetarian! and in fact i find it more fun cooking as a vegetarian because you kinda have to be creative instead of just slapping meat on a pan or grill. i will share with you new ideas or recipes every now and then as i have several things up my sleeve that i’ve created or some recipes that i’ve found and tweaked (i rarely use recipes exactly as they are).

    cook on and keep giving us a taste of your delish world! 😉

    • Beets have always made me a little weary. Looks like that has to be the next veggie I try! Your dinner tonight is making my mouth water! Please keep sharing recipes. I tend to get a little lazy during the week. I’m especially interested in the edamame wontons. I have edamame in my freezer I need to do something with! Hmm, looks like I need to work on another delish post soon. And I agree with needing to be creative when cooking vegetarian. My tastes have grown so much recently. Thanks for the comment! It put a smile on my face! 🙂

  4. I got introduced to roasted vegetables from my mom. She loves to roast broccoli and cauliflower, brussel sprouts, sweet potatoes, red onions, and lots of other good vegetables! 🙂

  5. Pingback: Alien Veggies | Delish World

Leave a Reply

