Homemade Healthy Fats

After cooking dinner last night it was back to the kitchen for me. I had avocados that were super ripe and we were out of peanut butter. It was time for me to whip up some lazy girl guacamole and homemade pb.

 Lazy girl guacamole is really simple. Cut the avocados in half, remove the pit, and squeeze the avocado meat into a mixing bowl. This recipe is lazy because I use store-bought salsa instead of cutting up tomatoes, onions, etc. Dump whatever salsa you like into the bowl along with a squeeze of lemon juice and some garlic powder. Mash everything together until you reach guacamole goodness. You can leave it chunky or smash it smooth. Easy-peasy!

Guacamole is good to add to meals because it contains healthy fat. Everyone needs to stop trippin about fat. Our body NEEDS it. No, I’m not telling you to go out and chow down on a stick of butter, but healthy fat is a-ok and completely necessary for our body. I like to bring a small container of my lazy girl guac for lunch and use it for a dip for my veggies. Tastier and better for the bod then my beloved ranch dressing.

Homemade peanut butter is the bomb dot com! Forget about the Skippy you know and love. Homemade peanut butter will win over your heart! Marcus bought me a beautiful food processor for Christmas and I’ve been chopping up peanuts ever since. (Ok, how happy am I about this food processor…can we say cheeese?!)

I use Ashley’s method for my homemade pb. Just throw the roasted peanuts into the food processor and let it do its thing for about 5 minutes. I stopped it occasionally to scrape down the sides. When it was close to being finished I added a little bit of sea salt and honey. The end result is smooth, natural, three ingredient peanut butter. If you have a food processor, I recommend you try this. It’s super easy and yummy!

Peanut butter (nut butter in general) is another healthy fat option. But remember a little peanut butter goes a long way. Just like I wouldn’t recommend eating cup after cup of guacamole, I wouldn’t eat cups and cups of peanut butter (even though I sure want to!)

Homemade peanut butter and guacamole are both portable and awesome to bring to work or school for lunch. And remember your body needs healthy fat so don’t be afraid of incorporating it into your diet. Just like with everything else, eat it in moderation.

I leave you with this hilarious post from Momma Pea. It’s not healthy fat related but it will make you LOL, especially if you have kids.

7 responses to “Homemade Healthy Fats

  1. Yaaay food processor!! Glad you’re liking the PB! 🙂

  2. I’m going to try almond butter next. I’m so excited to try all the different varieties.

  3. I want to try some of your Peanut Butter when I come out for a visit this Spring.. What do you say??? Will you make some?

  4. I will change it in a couple of months. Thank You for the PB ahead of time. Peter Pan PB sucks!

  5. Pingback: Protein | Delish World

  6. Pingback: Maple Cashew Butter | Delish World

Leave a Reply

