Morning Workouts

Every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday I wake up at 4:30 and hit the gym before work. Once it started getting cold here in VA and dark at like 4:00 in the afternoon I found that my motivation to go to the gym after work was nonexistent. It was just SO much more enticing to go home, cook a delish meal, and relax for the rest of the night. Hence the morning workout!

My gym offers a cycling class on M, W, and F mornings at 5:15. For those of you who are struggling to find the motivation to get your sweat on in the winter, I totally recommend working out in the morning and getting it over with. Nothing feels better then knowing I have worked out and can go home and relax after a long day of work.

Yeah, 4:30 wake-ups stink. Does this look like a person who wants to get her butt kicked that early? Not cute!

Here are some ways I keep myself motivated throughout the week:

-Lay out your clothes the night before. And I mean ALL your clothes: sports bra, socks, gym shoes, etc. The less I have to think about at 4:30 in the morning, the better.

-Don’t hit the snooze. The longer you delay the waking up process, the more likely it is that you will just stay in bed. The second you hear your alarm, get up. Pulling yourself away from your nice warm bed, and snoring cute boyfriend is really the hardest part.

-Tell yourself, “I will never regret a workout, but I will regret the times I skipped a workout.” This works for me every single time. I know as soon as I get to the gym, hop on that bike, and get my blood flowing, the better I will feel.

-Bundle up! It’s winter. Our cars are cold and take a while to heat up. I wear gloves, a scarf, head warmer, and a jacket on my drive to the gym so I can’t use the cold weather as an excuse.

-Crank up the radio. During my drive I find the most upbeat song and turn it up. It helps wake me up and get me pumped for a workout.

-Make friends. I love chatting with my gym friends while we all warm up.

-It’s only one hour of your whole day. Julie did a great post on this and whenever I want to skip a morning workout, I tell myself that this will only take one hour of my whole day and then I’m done and feeling great.

So there you go, gym rats. The winter sucks. It makes us all feel like big bears who want to hibernate. Get your workout over with in the morning and you can be a bear all evening while sitting on the couch watching Jersey Shore, Teen Mom, and all the other trash awesomeness on MTV.

…yes I badly photoshopped myself into the cast of The Jersey Shore…don’t hate 😉

4 responses to “Morning Workouts

  1. 430 am = Laura will almost always be sleeping! Btw, ur too smart to be a cast member in the jersey shore. 🙂

  2. i thought waking up at 5 was bad!

    i see ppl like you running and working out that early and im like, “wtf!?” lol

  3. Thanks so much for the motivation! You are so cute and upbeat!

  4. You fit right in the photo! I love your blogs!

Leave a Reply

