Homemade Broccoli and Cheddar Soup

Is there a better combination then soup and a sandwich? It’s one of my favorite things to eat. I love soup. I could probably eat it every day. When I saw Emily’s recipe for homemade broccoli and cheddar soup, I knew I had to try it.

Thank goodness for Emily and her healthified version of broccoli and cheddar soup. Paired with grilled sammiches, this was one comforting and simple dinner.

I modified her recipe a little based the ingredients I had.


Ingredients
-2 cloves of minced garlic
-handful of frozen leeks
-bag of frozen broccoli
-1 carton of organic veggie broth
-1/3 cup of nutritional yeast
-1/2 cup of cheddar cheese
-salt, pepper, and cayenne to taste

Begin by cooking up the garlic and leeks in a large pot using olive oil. Once the garlic and leeks have browned a little, add the frozen broccoli and let it all cook for 5 minutes.

Add the veggie broth. Once it starts to simmer, add nutritional yeast, salt, pepper, and cayenne. Cover and let cook for 10 minutes.

Transfer soup to blender. Before you start blending, make sure to crack the lid and blend slow. This is vital. If you don’t do this, the hot soup will cause the lid to blow off and the result will be a soup explosion. Not fun!

Blend soup almost smooth, leaving a few chunks. Transfer soup back to the pot and let it heat through. Stir in cheddar cheese. Or just eat cheese from bag. I can’t resist cheese.

Ladle some delishness into a bowl and enjoy! (Thanks Emily for the great recipe!)

I paired the soup with classic grilled cheese sandwiches for Marcus, and a grilled hummus, mushroom, and spinach sandwich for myself.

The best part about this meal?? Leftovers for lunch today! Soup always tastes better the second day. I can’t wait to dig in! :)

3 responses to “Homemade Broccoli and Cheddar Soup

  1. dude, i hate blender soup explosions. that has happened to me so many times and i never knew why until reading this! next time i’m totally cracking the lid.

  2. This looks so good!!!

Leave a Reply

